87 928 starts but won't keep running - ideas on where to start?

More
15 Jun 2012 16:01 #9529 by townofheroes
Any ideas on where to start?
Left work the other day stopped at a stop light car dies in downtown Tampa.
I'd crank the engine it would run rough for 3 seconds and quit running.
Now it won't won't start at all.
With the ignition key turned on I hear this tick, tick, tick near the fuel rails.
It has approx. 33000 miles. I've been driving regularly for the past 2 years that I've owned it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Jun 2012 16:24 #9530 by xstepson
Find someone close to swap LH computers with. Use your computer in their car so that if something in your car has destroyed your computer, it won't destroy theirs as well. Chances are that from the symptoms you describe, your LH computer (the computer that controls fuel/injection and mixture) has gone bad. They can be rebuilt for not too much money. John Speake and Rich at Electonik Repair both provide that service

More
15 Jun 2012 21:45 #9531 by pcar928fan
'87 MY...yup, go with brain dead and I bet you will be correct. Our own Rick Andrade can rebuild that bad boy for you. He might even have one ready to go and you trade yours in as a core. Roughly $600 IIRC...had to do one in my '88...

James
78 Silver / Black-white #295
84 Ruby Red / Black AO84
88 Dark Blue / Linen-Black
92 Polar Silver / Dark Blue 92EURO
93 Arrow Blue / Black

• alabbasi
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
16 Jun 2012 09:19 #9533 by alabbasi
Before jumping to conclusions, I would check a couple of things (not 928 things, but general things).

1) Check to see if there is power to the fuel pump - would indicate a bad relay or controller
2) The some lines at the fuel rail to see if there is any pressure at the fuel rail (would indicate that you're getting fuel from the pump)