× Welcome to the 928 Owners Club Forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

I'm new and need some advice

• Dood797
  • Dood797's Avatar Topic Author
More
17 Jan 2017 14:01 #19493 by Dood797
I'm new and need some advice was created by Dood797
Hey. So I'm pretty new to the whole car deal and I have an old 1980 Porsche 928. It's been sitting in my garage for the past 15 years. I decided to make it a project to bring it back from the dead. I know some of the simple stuff, like I need a new battery, tires, etc. and I know I need to drain the gas tank. What I'm asking about and need some advice on is what should I check out on the car and what experienced car peoples like yourselves would advise me to do in the restoration. The exterior looked great, the inside is it good condition, but the engine needs to be revived. I'm also wondering if this car will work well in the end. I don't want it to be breaking down all the time.

P.S. I originally had the idea to empty the gas tank and just use some high octane fuel to burn out the stuff in the fuel lines and what have you. Is that a good idea, or should I have the fuel lines cleaned out?

Thanks for all the help I get.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Jan 2017 10:05 #19498 by martinss
Replied by martinss on topic I'm new and need some advice