Rear valance on 1988 S4 missing designation badging

More
19 Nov 2014 17:02 #17765 by PorscheBob

Please help if possible!

I am a 26 year PCA member and I just sold my 911 and I am looking to buy a 928 S4 to replace it. I saw one at a dealership that was advertised as a 1988 S4 but the rear end has what appears to be a GTS valance on it (reflector stretching between lower red portion of taillights). Even weirder (unless because I am a rookie I am just missing something) there is no badging on the back or anywhere on the car. VIN number suggests the car came with the I302 option (Type Designation On Rear Valance). My only two options to believe now are that a) I am a dope and don't know about some delete option for that year or b) the car, which the dealer claims has a spotless Carfax) was whacked in the rear and the valance was replaced with one from a later year wrecked GTS. The panel gaps in the picture look to be a little off on the right side where the hatchback meets the valance panel. Any help or clarification would be greatly appreciated.

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
19 Nov 2014 18:44 #17768 by LummoxPG