New member needs help!

• denhamfly
  • denhamfly's Avatar Topic Author
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
More
27 Jun 2011 15:14 #5267 by denhamfly
New member needs help! was created by denhamfly
I have just joined the club, and hope to learn how to work on my car. I have a 1985 928s I live in Baton Rouge and have had nothing but bad luck with repair shops the Porsche dealership is included in that statement. There is a guy in New Orleans that is good but he is an hour away and is busy most of the time. I just paid $900.00 dollars to give a guy in my area a shot a the timing belt, it work fine for 5 days and then the tensioner light came an and the car started running badly. I am a pretty good mechanic except with this car, I would like to watch and help someone change a timing belt. I would be willing to work out some kind of deal for this education. Paid weekend In New Orleans or something. I would travel to do this or pay for someone else’s travel to come do mine. I have owned this car for 10 years and probably wasted $6000.00 dollars in faulty repairs.

I like working on my own stuff, instead of paying some one and than bringing my car and fixing what they worked on.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jun 2011 15:56 #5268 by srshaw3
Replied by srshaw3 on topic New member needs help!
I might be a little geographical challenged. Are any of the regional contacts near you: www.928oc.org/regional_information.htm ?

Dwayne provides great documentation, you could look at this one forums.928oc.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=587
We can probably help you through any questions or issues from afar, so long as the car can be worked at in leisure.

More
27 Jun 2011 16:31 #5269 by 928mac
Replied by 928mac on topic New member needs help!
Hello Oscar, good to have you here.

I don't think you are different then anyone else here as far as spending lots of money on their cars go.