G Force Chips

More
27 Nov 2011 06:40 #7148 by bvgent
G Force Chips was created by bvgent
Hi All, I'm new to all of this. Just got my 1991 S4 in Jan 2011. Looking for affordable ways to boost HP and gas mileage. Has anyone used the G Force chip? I'm searching the forum and finding little reference to performance chips. I would have thought that this would be of interest to everyone, so I'm thinking I must be using the search tools improperly. Can anyone help with this subject?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Nov 2011 07:42 #7149 by srshaw3
Replied by srshaw3 on topic G Force Chips
The best value is to *first* ensure your 928 is tuned properly. Review all your standard tune-up parts, plugs, caps, rotors filters, then move on to wearable parts like O2 sensors and ignition parts that can fail slowly, coils, wires, control units. Review your cam timing as well, this commonly is off.

I know there are chip vendors out there, but haven't heard much about them. For tuning, there is a product called the sharktuner that might intrigue you. There are upgrades for performance, but generally not cheap.

Many enjoy the improvements by added a 928 specific x pipe, upgrading catalytic convertors and removing the rear muffler (weight savings too).

More recently there have been products that are designed to provide better air flow to the motor.

Of course there are nitrous kits, supercharger kits and turbo kits as well.

More
27 Nov 2011 07:53 #7150 by the flying scotsman
Replied by the flying scotsman on topic G Force Chips
welcome to the forum :)

buying off the shelf performance 'chips' for the 87 and newer 928s do not provide favourable results.

with a stock car getting everything operating as it was when new then make a decision to go from there. the 928 is quite complicated and requires considerable attention to keep it at its strongest.