Tell me what you see (underbody and engine)

• Johnny V
  • Johnny V's Avatar Topic Author
More
28 Nov 2011 14:26 #7164 by Johnny V
I started this thread over on Rennlist, but I'd like you fellas to take a look as well please! I'd like for you gurus to give me feedback on what you see in these pictures. It's an 84 US 928S auto w/104k miles.

The pictures are labeled with a number or letter, so if you notice something, please reference the picture since I am still learning alot about this car. I have alot of mechanical experience with other cars, but this is my first porsche :)

Since there are ALOT of pictures, I'm just linking to my photobucket album. Thanks for any feedback!

s78.photobucket.com/albums/j120/jvelandi...he%20928S/Underbody/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
28 Nov 2011 19:57 #7166 by martinss
Replied by martinss on topic Tell me what you see (underbody and engine)
I watched the thread over on RL Johnny. It is actually fascinating to see what people can diagnose from those pics. It almost makes you wish for a regular service like this from experts for us DYI learner people.

I agree with some of the sentiments - fix the safety issues first, then performance, and finally things like leaks - unless they are safety related or severe. You'll find as you go thru your car that a scary number of things are actually broken. In some ways this is a tribute to 928s - they soldier on despite breakages for 20-30 years in most cases.

You'll get more input on RL as there are many more participants. But some people will run out of patience sooner. Personally I post my progress to my car profile here in a detail I would never share on RL. If people aren't interested they won't read, but on this Owners Club site you aren't likely be hassled about it - at least that's my experience so far. Meanwhile I enjoy having a record of what I've done - which I would otherwise quickly forget.

• Johnny V
More
28 Nov 2011 21:03 #7169 by Johnny V