Button under Dash and more

More
22 Oct 2011 19:46 #6575 by dwarner928
There is a small button under the dash to the right of the instrument panel dimmer switch. I know it's not the trigger for the ejection seat cause Fido would be in orbit now...just wondered what the heck it is.

Also...I'm a total newbie to Porsche and the 928s Euro. I have someplace to ask questions but I need someone to ask questions of. I promise I won't be a pain in the arse...I just don't want to have to learn at shop rate.

If anyone out there can handle a few questions, please contact me via private message and I can call you or I can give you my number. I just bought my car 3 weeks ago and it's been in the shop more than in my driveway due to a water pump failure day after I brought it home...now $4100 later I can finally drive it again...

Thanks in advance for any help...

Doug

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Oct 2011 20:16 #6576 by pcar928fan
Water pump failure should not be costing ANYTHING LIKE $4100 to fix... Should be an easy replace the H2O pump and Timing Belt. Never more than $1500 for that. What the hell else did they do?!

The button is for the intensive windshield wash. If you have or get an owners manual for an '80 model it will likely answer every question you have. I have been REALLY busy putting out fires (figuratively, thankfully) the last couple days, otherwise I would have given you a shout! Sorry about that.

James
78 Silver / Black-white #295
84 Ruby Red / Black AO84
88 Dark Blue / Linen-Black
92 Polar Silver / Dark Blue 92EURO
93 Arrow Blue / Black

More
23 Oct 2011 08:28 #6577 by the flying scotsman
where are you Doug? perhaps theres a member close by you could directly talk with :)

More
25 Oct 2011 21:10 #6595 by dwarner928
Well the button under the dash resets the trip odometer. One mystery solved.